skip navigation

Women Intercollegiate Wrestling

There are many opportunities for women to wrestle after High School graduation. There are scholarships and grant opportunities available for wrestling in college.

The WWF women's director is a great resource and conversations regarding college wrestling opportunities.

History of Women’s College Wrestling

Lakeland University (Plymouth, Wisconsin) has added a womens program for 2018-2019.

Women competing in college wrestling was not common until the last two decades, but there have been a few athletes who were part of their men’s college teams and also entered international women’s events. A few of the prominent women who wrestled on their men’s teams included Olympic silver medalist Sara McMann (Lock Haven), Olympic bronze medalist Patricia Miranda (Stanford), Olympian Kelsey Campbell (Arizona State), World medalists Jenny Wong (Lock Haven), Jackie Berube (UW-Lacrosse), Debbie Weiss (Arizona State) and Afsoon Roshanzamir (UC-Davis), World Team members Erin Tomeo (Lock Haven), Lauren Wolfe (Cornell), Jenna Pavlik (Lock Haven) and others.

The first varsity women’s wrestling team was created in the late 1990s at the University of Minnesota-Morris, under its coach Doug Reese. Some of the pioneer programs which added varsity teams in the early years included Missouri Valley College, the University of the Cumberlands, Menlo College, Pacific University and Neosho County CC. Cal-State Bakersfield had a number of talented women competing in the early years. These teams competed against each other and also against Canadian women’s college teams, but a main part of their schedule was participating in USA Wrestling national and international women’s freestyle events.

In 2002, the International Olympic Committee announced that women’s freestyle wrestling had been added to the program of the Olympic Games, with its premier event occurring at the 2004 Summer Olympic Games in Athens, Greece, with four weight class. This announcement helped in the growth and promotion of women’s wrestling at all levels, including the college level.

From Article - National Wrestling Coaches Association - Women's Wrestling History


Colleges with Women's Wrestling Programs

Updated 11-2014

Sponsored by Lakeland University

Lakeland University

Visit Website

Ben Chapman - Head Women's Wrestling Coach
chapmanbr@lakeland.edu
(920) 565-1000 Ext. 2203

Lakeland University
W3718 South Drive
Plymouth, Wisconsin 53073

Campbellsville University

Visit Website

Lee Miracle 
rlmiracle@campbellsville.edu
Campbellsville, KY 42718

Women NAIA

Eastern Michigan University

Visit Website

Brent Harvey

King College

Visit Website

Jason Moorman
jdmoorman@king.edu
Bristol TN 37620

Women D2

Life University

Visit Website

David Mathews
wrestling@life.edu
Marietta, Georgia
 

Lindenwood University

Visit Website

Toccara Montgomery
toccaramontgomery@gmail.com
Saint Charles MO 63301

Women D2

Lindenwood University - Belleville

Visit Website

Kyle Jahn  
Belleville IL 62226

Women NAIA

Lyon College

Visit Website

Kevin Carter
kevin.carter@lyon.edu
Batesville, AR 72501
Women NAIA

McKendree University

Visit Website

Sam Schmitz
stschmitz@mckendree.edu
Lebanon IL 62254

Women D2

Menlo College

Visit Website

Joey Martinez  
Atherton CA 94027

Women NAIA

Midland University

Visit Website

Beau Vest
vest@midlandu.edu
Fremont NE 68025

Women NAIA

Missouri Baptist University

Visit Website

Brian Jackson
jackson@mobap.edu
St. Louis MO 63141

Women NAIA

Missouri Valley College

Visit Website

Carl Murphree
murphreec@moval.edu
Marshall MO 65340

Women NAIA

Northwest Kansas Tech

Visit Website

Paul Gomez
paul.gomez@nwktc.edu
Goodland KS 67735

Women NJCAA

Oklahoma City University

Visit Website

Archie Randall
arandall@okcu.edu
Oklahoma City OK 73106

Women NAIA

Ottawa University

Visit Website

Kevin Andres
kevin.andres@ottawa.edu
Ottawa, Kansas

Pacific University

Visit Website

Severin Walsh
wals1573@pacificu.edu
Forest Grove OR  97116

Women D3

Southwestern Oregon Community College

Visit Website

Josh White
joshua.white@socc.edu
Coos Bay OR  97420
Women NAIA

Simon Fraser

Visit Website

Mike Jones
mjones@sfu.ca
Burnaby, B.C. Canada V5A 1S6

Women D2

Springfield Technical Community College

Visit Website

Anibal Nieves
aanieves@stcc.edu
Springfield, Massachusetts

 

University of the Cumberlands

Visit Website

Donnie Stephens
donald.stephens@ucumberlands.edu
Williamsburg KY 40769
Women NAIA

University of Jamestown

Visit Website

Tony DeAnda
tdeanda@jc.edu
Jamestown ND 58405
Women NAIA

Waldorf College

Visit Website

Tyreece Gilder
tyreece.gilder@waldorf.edu
Forest City IA 50436
Women NAIA

Wayland Baptist

Visit Website

Aaron Meister
meistera@wbu.edu
Plainview TX 79072
Women NAIA